Latest @Pinterest #DIY (hint: not food-related)

Okay, this may not have anything to do with food, but it’s still kind of cool…

This is one of the many Pinterest projects I have saved to do on a rainy day: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/370772981799442870/

My lovely partner in crime managed to salvage an old, five-panel solid wood door from an old job site, and it’s been sitting in the garage for, oh… probably two years now, collecting dust and waiting for me to get off my butt.

IMG_20150701_123955-1

Well, Kevin is currently destroying finishing his garage/workshop, which means that there’s a whole lotta junk in there that’s gotta go… like the old door that I’ve been dreaming of turning into a headboard (as well as a few pallets, but I think he actually has plans for those).

So, on Canada Day, I finally dragged that old door out into the yard, and gave it a good cleaning. I scraped off a lot of the loose paint, and give it a really light sanding, but I didn’t bother stripping it down to the wood: I figured it would look more authentic with some texture under the paint.

10645088_10100452731225739_2658221139662060114_n

After letting it dry for a while, I busted out the paint spray gun and gave it a few light coats of a pretty light yellow cabinet paint I’ve had lying around for a while (originally purchased for this desk project).

A few days later, I made a trip to the local hardware store, where I snagged some crown moulding offcuts ($1 each!) and a piece of 1×6 pine, so Kevin could add a shelf to the edge of the door/headboard for me! Then I caulked all the joints and filled the nail holes he made, and give it a light sanding.

IMG_20150704_093735-1

The Pinterest link above suggested a more ornate piece of trim, but Kevin suggested the crown would look a bit more polished, and less antique-y… I agree:

IMG_20150704_160246-1

A few more coats of paint, and it was done! I let it fully dry in the garage for a few days, then Kevin mounted it on the wall for me!

IMG_20150709_175148-1

All told, this project probably only cost about $13 (for the crown and pine)… But that was because we had a lot of the materials we needed at home already.

God, I love Pinterest… and Kevin, of course, for helping out with all my ridiculous DIY projects! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Latest @Pinterest #DIY (hint: not food-related)

Leave a Reply

